Quechup Spam — addresses of parent corporation and attorneys
September 3rd, 2007

I didn’t succumb to any of the multiple emails from friends, asking me to join Quechup. I did get the following message, which I thought I would pass along:

DO NOT CLICK ON ANY LINKS FROM THE MESSAGE OR INTERACT WITH THE QUECHUP.COM SITE IN ANY WAY!

Instead, please join me in sending a message to both legals@quechup.com and spam@quechup.com insisting that they sease and desist all spamming activity from their site immediately.

If you’re feeling in the mood to press things further (which I am), write a letter to their parent corporation, iDate, at:

iDate Corporation
6767 West Tropicana Ave.
Suite 207
Las Vegas, NV 89103
USA

or contact their attorneys:

Loeb & Loeb LLP
345 Park Avenue
New York, NY 10154-0037
USA
Tel: (212) 407-4000

  • del.icio.us
  • Digg
  • Technorati
  • blogmarks
  • co.mments
  • BlinkList
  • NewsVine
  • Slashdot
  • Reddit
  • Shadows
  • StumbleUpon
  • YahooMyWeb
Comments
1 - RogerT

This might be a good lawsuit, if you are really interested in pressing the matter

I’m sure there are at least a few thousand others who would get on board with such a venture…

-kpaul

3 - Sam Benbotham

Curious, I tried signing up under a throwaway account. It’s true that it could be a lot clearer, but they do say they’re about to email everyone, and show a screen allowing you to uncheck people you don’t want to invite.

Admittedly, it would lead to greater customer satisfaction to have people check the names they _do_ want to invite. It’s far too easy to click “Continue” without reading carefully and end up spamming all contacts. Still, it’s incorrect to claim not to have been warned — it’s clear enough if you bother to read before clicking — which is a good idea generally.

NB: I was only able to try it with Yahoo contact list (also fake). I can’t confirm what happens if you let them read your Outlook address book because I’m unwilling to risk it; I’m just assuming it’s the same.

Also, it’s possible what I’m seeing is not the same as the site everyone’s been complaining about — perhaps they’ve changed it in response to customer outrage.

I had a bunch of invite e-mails this autumn from people whom I could never suspect to invite me to such network.
So, now the mystery is solved.
I wonder did they thought about consequences and community reaction to this dirty trick?

Post a comment